Skip to page content
Home / About us » News » Archives

Finalists selected for No.8 Wire National Art Award

25 May 2015

New Zealand National Agricultural Fieldays® is pleased to announce finalists have been selected for the No.8 Wire National Art Award, partnered by Waikato Museum.

Dagmar and Nicholas Elliot, who produced the winning Rustic Hinaki in 2014, have made it through again this year, choosing to work on individual projects this time around. Jeff Thomson, who won second place in 2014 with Ladders, is also among the finalists and has teamed up with Bev Goodwin this year.

“This award is attracting some high calibre and emerging artists from throughout the North Island. We’re looking forward to announcing the winners and presenting an exciting exhibition at ArtsPost this year,” says Waikato Museum Director Cherie Meecham.

Artists’ sculptures are predominantly made from the iconic material No.8 wire. The sculptures will be on display to the public in a free exhibition from 5 – 29 June at ArtsPost Galleries and Shop.

Tony Nicholls of Wintec will judge the pieces, with the winners announced on Thursday 4 June. Nicholls has taught visual arts at Wintec for almost 20 years and has always been intrigued by the challenge of problem solving and detailed work.

“It will be exciting to see an idea in combination with craftsmanship. I am looking forward to seeing some very interesting entries,” says Nicholls. 

Fieldays Head of Events Lee Picken says, “The entrants have been faced with creating and sculpturing artwork using at least 75 percent No.8 wire. Every year we see new ways and forms created from this iconic agricultural medium.”

Launched in 1997, the No.8 Wire National Art Award, held during Fieldays each year, is renowned for the innovation and imaginative entries it attracts. 


Dagmar Elliot – Te Awamutu

Elwyn Stone and Reiner Linderman – Hamilton

Nicholas Elliot – Te Awamutu

Asaki Kajima Loughnan – Napier

Fiona Clarke – Taranaki

Ann Byford – Taupiri

Ricks Terstappen – Hastings

Tim Elliot – Auckland

Katrina Jury – Hamilton

Robert Caig – Wellington

Kate McLean – Auckland

Akky van der Velde – Leeston

Jane Pouls and Dave Sole – Hamilton

Bev Goodwin and Jeff Thomson – Auckland

Rebecca Rose – Auckland