Skip to page content
Home / About us » News » Archives

Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award Winners Announced

8 June 2012

A Whanganui design student has won the major prize in the Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award 2012. Max Deutschle’s entry The Hollow Tiki, a three-dimensional work made of recycled No.8 wire was awarded the $4,000 prize at the awards ceremony held at ArtsPost Galleries & Shop last night.

Auckland artist Donna Sarten was placed second for Price of Milk and received $1,500 in prize money and Asaki Kajima of Napier was placed third for Circulation and received $1,000.

Judge Jeff Thomson was impressed with the rugged yet precise construction of Max Deutschle’s entry which features twisted wire joins.

“I had a gut reaction when I first viewed this entry and that feeling never went away. It’s a very linear piece. It appears as a line drawing in space yet it retains all the qualities of rusted old No.8 wire used on the farm with its twists and bends,” he said.

Thomson, a full time sculptor since 1985 who describes No.8 wire the first cousin of corrugated iron was impressed with the variety in the way entrants had used the material.

“We have some really good works here from people who have a vivid imagination and have drawn on their experience to create an exciting awards exhibition. The artists selected here have created works that transcend our experience of No.8 wire. I feel very exhilarated.”

Other prizes include 'The President’s Award' awarded by Fieldays president Lloyd Downing and a 'Peoples Choice Award' which will be awarded to the artist who receives the most public votes during the course of the exhibition.

The finalists' work will be exhibited at ArtPost Galleries & Shop from 8 June until 16 July.

For more information on the Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award 2012 visit


NAME: Louise Belay
DESIGNATION: Waikato Museum Marketing Manager
TEL (DIRECT): 07 838 6956
MOBILE: 021 536 557