Skip to page content
Home / About us » News » Archives

Past winners among finalists of 2019 Fieldays No8 Wire Award

12 April 2019

Jill Godwin 2017 Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award winner with her work The No.8 Wire Lettering System Fences vs Walls3

The 2019 Fieldays No.8 Wire Art Award will be hotly contested with two past winners, four recent place-getters and a previous People’s Choice Award recipient among this year’s finalists.

The annual award, managed by Waikato Museum and partnered by rural supplies co-operative Farmlands, showcases the value, versatility and symbolism of No.8 wire (or 4mm gauge) through the creation of artworks made from this iconic material of Kiwi agriculture.

Twenty-five artworks by 23 artists have been selected by the award judge, University of Auckland Associate Professor Linda Tyler, to be exhibited from May 11 to June 9 at Hamilton’s ArtsPost Galleries & Shop.

“This exhibition really showcases the versatility of No.8 wire as a material for making art,” says Ms Tyler. “This year’s entries show how it can be braided, twisted, tied, wrapped, woven or just left in coils as it comes, and be expressive of both strength and delicacy, energy and line.”

The finalists include past winners Jill Godwin (2017) and Dagmar Elliott (co-winner in 2014), as well as Fiona Clark (runner-up in 2018), Gaye Jurisich (runner-up in 2017), John Mulholland (3rd in 2017), and Bev Goodwin (3rd in 2018). The 2018 People’s Choice Award winner, Ricks Terstappen, is a double finalist in 2019.

The winning artworks will be announced at an awards ceremony on May 10. The overall winner will receive $7,000, second and third place-getters will receive $1,000 and $500 respectively from the NZ National Fieldays Society Inc. Society President Peter Carr will award the Fieldays President’s Choice Award, and visitors to the exhibition can vote for the People’s Choice Award.

“It’s fantastic to see the talent among this year’s finalists and we look forward to seeing the masterpieces they have created for this year’s competition,” says Mr Carr.


The 2019 finalists are:

Reginald Laurie, Kaukapakapa

Donna Leanne Cormack, Wellsford

John Mulholland, Warkworth

Jill Godwin, Auckland

Sophie Prendergast, Auckland

Sue Nelson, Auckland

Tanya Ankersmit, Auckland

Katrina Millington, Auckland

Bev Goodwin & Jeff Thomson, Auckland and Helensville

Gaye Jurisich, Hamilton (two entries)

Elwyn Stone, Hamilton

Sue Rhodes, Hamilton

Sylvia Sinel, Waikato

Kathryn Engebretsen, Tamahere

Mike Moss, Raglan

Dagmar Elliott, Te Awamutu

Anett Pilz, Katikati

Anna Gedson, Opotiki

Sharleen Gamble, Napier

Ricks Terstappen, Hastings (two entries)

Fiona Clark, Waitara

Aaron Frater, Lower Hutt

Jasmine Clark, Arrowtown


Image: Jill Godwin, Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award winner, with her work The No.8 Wire Lettering System: Fences vs Walls. 


For more information, contact:

Dan Silverton
Communication and Engagement Advisor
021 056 9810